Monday, April 22, 2024

Queerty announces nominees for 11th annual awards

Our colleagues at Queerty, the LGBTQ+ entertainment news site, have announced their nominees for The 11th anniversary Queerties awards, taking place February 28 in Los Angeles. 

The Queerties is a celebration of entertainment and pop culture moments that defined the past year in the LGBTQ+ community. It is designed to uplift and spotlight LGBTQ+ creators, tastemakers, and storytellers who are not often recognized at other award shows. 

“The Queerties gives voice to the LGBTQ+ community,” Scott Gatz of Q.Digital, the parent company of Queerty, explains.    “It is the only pop culture awards show where queer people vote for the talent and creatives they feel will have the most lasting impact on the next generation of queer youth.”  

Bianca Del Rio will host this year’s ceremony. “Grab your sequins, grab your feathers, grab your leather harnesses, and let’s be merry, Marys,” she says.

Bianca Del Rio will host this year’s Queerties

Nominees for The Queerties were selected by the editorial team at Queerty.  Winners will be voted on by Queerty readers from now through February 21.  Categories range from the “Badass” award, honoring the top LGBTQ+ newsmakers, to “Drag Royalty,” and “Closet Door Bustdown”, an award recognizing brave notables who shook up mainstream America with their coming out stories. 

Nominees in the “Bad Ass” category include Joel Kim Booster (Fire Island, Loot), Jim Parsons (Spoiler Alert), and Ryan O’Connell (Queer as Folk), among others.  Willow Pill will compete against Alaska, Raja, Eureka! and more for the “Drag Royalty” crown.  Kit Connor (Heartstopper), Rebel Wilson, Noah Schnapp (Stranger Things) and Aunjanue Ellis (upcoming The Color Purple) are among the stars competing in the “Closet Door Bustdown” category.

Billy Eichner (Bros), Janelle Monáe (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery) and Troye Sivan (Three Months) are among those competing in “Best Performance Film”.  Indie artists being recognized include influencers Chris Olsen and Megan Mitchell, vying for “Favorite TikTok-er”; Omar Rudberg and Chappell Roan, both named in the “Breakout Musical Artist” category; and Cole Escola and Jeffery Self, whose popular comedy show, Breakfast Buffet, is competing for “Top LGBTQ+ Podcast”.

This year’s event honors Dylan Mulvaney, an actress who documented her gender transition to her ten million followers on TikTok, andmusician Rufus Wainwright.  Gay music artist VINCINT will perform at the ceremony.

And what is a queer award show without at least a little shade?  The 11th anniversary ceremony will also award its renowned “Girl, Bye” prize, the category that execrates the individual most scorned by the LGBTQ+ community.  Nominees for 2023 include Candace Cameron Bure, Kanye West, Elon Musk and Ginni Thomas, among others.

For more information on The 11th Annual Queerties Award Show and to vote for your favorite nominees, visit

Queer Forty Staff

Queer Forty writing staff work hard to bring you all the latest articles to help inspire and inform.

Queer Forty Staff has 2390 posts and counting. See all posts by Queer Forty Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.