Friday, July 12, 2024

Olivia Newton-John, Jennifer Beals, Mj Rodriguez and more honor queer TV

The stars come out to help GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics celebrate the past TV season’s best performances and shows with the Dorians TV Toast 2021.

In this hybrid of award and magazine shows, Patricia Arquette, Jennifer Beals, Olivia Newton-John, Tituss Burgess, Fran Drescher, Big Freedia, Nick Kroll, Punkie Johnson of Saturday Night LiveMichael Cimino (Love, Victor), Hannah Einbinder (Hacks), Leyna Bloom (Pose), Jesse James Keitel (Big Sky), Josie TotahJeffrey Bowyer-Chapman (Doogie Kameāloha, M.D.), Gottmik (a.k.a. Kade Gottlieb)sitcom icon Jim J. Bullock and more help GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics celebrate the past TV season’s best performances and shows, mainstream to queer+.

 Jean Smart, Bowen Yang, Showtime’s Ziwe and the Marvel hit WandaVision are among those vying for the group’s 12th annual Dorian honors.

Highlights: Pose star Mj Rodriguez discusses her life as a Hollywood trailblazer, actor-comic John Lehr (Hulu’s Quick Draw) impersonates MSNBC personality Steve Kornacki, and The Voice season five contestant Morgan Mallory sings an original pop song about the power of television. Famed LA broadcasting veteran and LGBTQ rights activist Karel is the recorded special’s lively host.

The Dorians TV Toast 2021 is produced by Karel Media and Brandon Riley Miller Productions with GALECA, with Karel and John Griffiths serving as Executive Producers. Karel, a groundbreaking personality in mainstream radio and TV, has hosted programs on ABC, CBS Radio and Free Speech TV across his 25-year career. 

The Society’s past film and TV toasts have included appearances by Hugh Jackman, Regina King, Janelle Monáe, Billy Porter, Chloé Zhao, Carey Mulligan, Antonio Banderas, Margaret Cho, Laverne Cox, Dan Levy, Rachel McAdams, John Oliver, George C. Wolfe, Amy Landecker, Bradley Whitford, Leslie Jordan, RuPaul’s Drag Race winner Chad Michaels, Fiona Shaw, Alex Newell, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Gavin Newsom, Damon Lindelof, Lee Daniels, Cheyenne Jackson and more.

SUNDAY AUGUST 29 at 8pm ET, 5pm PT on Here TV and YouTube’s PlanetOut

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics sponsors the Dorian Awards, honoring the best in film and TV, mainstream to queer+. A nonprofit professional organization, GALECA consists of over 300 critics and journalists who write for a variety of influential media outlets in the United States, Canada, Australia and the U.K. Follow @DorianAwards on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Find more information at

Here TV launched in 2004 as the world’s first SVOD LGBTQ+ video service, and is now available on platforms and cable outlets including Xfinity, Spectrum, Cablevision, FiOS, U-Verse, Cox as well as Here.TV, where it can be viewed via all iOS and Android mobile devices. Here TV offers a wide variety of queer+ films, series and other programming, including Emmy®-winning and -nominated originals.

PlanetOut is an ad-supported LGBTQ+ video channel that focuses on lifestyle, entertainment, travel, cooking, and of course, equality and Pride. PlanetOut reaches millions of diverse, cultured, and engaged viewers every month with its GLAAD award-winning library of movies, series, shorts and specials. PlanetOut, launched in 1995 and owned by Here Media, offers audiences high-quality content that tells queer stories authentically.

Latest Articles

Queer Forty Staff

Queer Forty writing staff work hard to bring you all the latest articles to help inspire and inform.

Queer Forty Staff has 2410 posts and counting. See all posts by Queer Forty Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.